The victims or deceased names are not mentioned in the provided text. : “Opposition Members Suspended from Parliament Over Security Breach”

Death – Obituary – Accident and Crime News : Opposition Members Suspended from Parliament Following Security Breach

In a shocking turn of events, fifteen Opposition members were suspended from Parliament on Thursday following protests against a major security breach that occurred a day earlier. The breach saw two intruders jump into the Lok Sabha from the visitors’ gallery and release smoke, raising serious questions about the laxity in security measures. The incident took place on the anniversary of the 2001 terrorist attack on Parliament, further adding to the concerns about the vulnerability of the institution.

The parliamentary affairs minister, Pralhad Joshi, urged lawmakers not to politicize the issue as they demanded the resignation of Union home minister Amit Shah over the breach. Joshi moved a motion to suspend five Congress members, accusing them of “misconduct” and “utter disregard to the House and the authority of the Chair.” The motion was passed, resulting in the suspension of Jothimani, Hibi Eden, TN Prathapan, Kumari Ramya Haridas, and Dean Kuriakose for the rest of the session.

Later, nine more Opposition members were suspended, including Manickam Tagore, K Kanimozhi, PR Natarajan, Md Jawaid, VK Sreekandan, S Venkatesan, Benny Behanan, K Subbarayan, and SR Parthiban. Out of the 14 suspended members, nine belong to the Congress, two to the Communist Party of India (Marxist), two to the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam, and one to the Communist Party of India.

To ensure the continuation of business, Joshi emphasized the importance of addressing important bills and learning from past security breaches. He commended Speaker Om Birla for promptly calling a meeting of floor leaders and implementing some of their security suggestions. Joshi assured that the security agencies were handling the breach, and an inquiry had been initiated. The government, he stated, was also sensitive to the issue and would address it accordingly.

In Rajya Sabha, Trinamool Congress’s Derek O’Brien was also suspended for disregarding the chairman’s directions and continuing to protest for a discussion on the security breach.

The Lok Sabha secretariat had earlier suspended eight security personnel for lapses in their duties. The preliminary findings revealed that the intruders managed to hide gas canisters inside their shoes, indicating a failure in proper frisking procedures. The intruders were eventually overpowered and apprehended by parliamentarians and security staff.

The Union home ministry has ordered a probe into the breach and has formed a committee led by CRPF Chief Anish Dayal Singh to identify the lapses and recommend necessary actions. Meanwhile, tightened security measures have been implemented, restricting access to only parliamentary staff and individuals with valid identity cards in the vicinity.

This incident has raised concerns about the overall security of Parliament and the need for a comprehensive review of the existing protocols. The suspension of Opposition members further highlights the tense political atmosphere surrounding the breach. As the investigation continues, the nation eagerly awaits the findings and the implementation of enhanced security measures to prevent such incidents in the future.

Leave a Comment